Mayor Bloomberg bans soda and baby formula in NYC…

English: New York Mayor, Michael R. Bloomberg.

English: New York Mayor, Michael R. Bloomberg. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Recently, New York Mayor Michael Bloomberg decided it was prudent that he reform NYC’s biggest problem….large fountain drinks.  The billionaire thought that America’s obesity epidemic could be solved by instituting a “nanny state” proclamation.  He believes that it is within his constitutional power to institute such bans.  Well Mr. Mayor, little problem with that.  It is not within your legal authority to micromanage human consumption.

Banning large fountain drinks WILL NOT solve the problem.  Bloomberg assumes that most if not all consumers of the product have a weight issue.  Obviously, he has never met people who can consume whatever their heart beckons and still maintain the pinnacle of fitness.  If someone wants 64oz of soda then they will simply get 2 32oz beverages.  (Wonder if that thought ever permeated in his brainstorming sessions)  Some could argue that the added hassle would deter one from getting multiple servings.  Those people are obviously not the ones dealing with weight problems.  I have struggled with my weight since the ripe age of 4.  Making me buy multiple servings wouldn’t deter me from procuring my desire.  The only effect would be the added disdain that I would garner for the mayor.  I know I have a problem.  I know what I must do.  But it is none of your business to tell me what I can and cannot consume.  This great nation of ours provides me with unalienable rights; one of them being the ability to eat and drink what I choose.  In the quantity that I choose.

First Lady Michelle Obama has made it her passion to inspire America, particularly the younger generations, to eat and live a healthier life.  What Ms. Obama does that is different is that she provides the facts and offers inspiration.  She does not force people to do her will.  I don’t know about Bloomberg, but I am not the type of person who does something simply because someone tells me to.  People lose weight because they want to.  And they do it when they want to.  Losing weight on anyone else’s behalf is doomed for failure.  I do something because I want to.  Everyone has a choice.  If I wanted to be told what to do I would move to a totalitarian country.

In addition to this absurd power of government, Bloomberg decided it was his place to “educate” new mothers.  He has made it more difficult for mothers to give their children formula based milk.  New mothers are expected to breast feed their children.  Formula bottles will be locked.  If the mother wants formula or for whatever reason cannot produce breast milk she must ask a nurse to give her it.  The nurse is then instructed to give her a “stern lecture” as to why it is important to breast feed her child.  This to me is wrong on so many levels.  First of all, many mothers are unable to provide sufficient breast milk to their infant.  They should not be embarrassed because the mayor wants to impose his preferences upon the general public.  Secondly, some mothers do not want to breast feed their children for a myriad of reasons.  It is not the mayor’s responsibility or civic duty to decide what is appropriate in the upraising of other’s children.  Formula milk is a sufficient alternative to breast milk.  What Mayor Bloomberg neglects to realize is that more women are working now than ever.  It is extremely difficult and cumbersome to pump breast milk throughout the day.  Above all, the government SHOULD NOT impose its personal preferences and values on to the citizens it governs.

Good thing I don’t live in New York.

Email: realtalkdebate2012@gmail.com

Twitter: @adrakontaidis & @talkrealdebate

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

About adrakontaidis

A conservative who doesn't pander to the GOP.

Leave a Reply

