Appreciate your mother everyday

A couple of weeks ago I dedicated my “Praise of the Week” to the U.S. military.  I discussed how I thought that our military should be praised more often than during federal holidays, campaign speeches and after successful missions.  This week I am dedicating this post to all the moms of the world.

No it isn’t Mother’s Day.

It isn’t my mom’s birthday.

It isn’t Christmas or any other holiday.

My mom is my hero.  She is the rock of my family.  She has had to play role of both parents after my dad died when I was in elementary school.  She did not succumb to the obstacles of life.  She did not cower from adversity.  She has raised and continues to raise my brothers, sisters and their children.  Like so many mothers, she does so much and doesn’t get the praise she deserves.  She deserves praise every day.  There hasn’t been a day in my life when she wasn’t there for me.  She is selfless, even at times to her detriment.  Always putting everyone else ahead of her needs.

I don’t know what I’d do without her.  I don’t want to even think about.  My mother is like so many other women.  She goes above and beyond what is expected.  The one thing I’ve come to realize about my mom.  The only thing she wants to know.  The thing she cares about the most (aside from our health and happiness).  Is that you care and love her.  That she is appreciated.  That you don’t take her for granted.

So today.

Not on Mother’s Day.

Or on Christmas.

Or on any other holiday.

I ask that you simply thank your mother.  Tell her you love her.  And give her a hug.  Aside from your health and happiness, a child’s love is what mother’s covet the most.

Go hug your mom!

 

Email: realtalkdebate2012@gmail.com

Twitter: @adrakontaidis & @talkrealdebate

Tags: , , , , , , ,

About adrakontaidis

A conservative who doesn't pander to the GOP.

7 responses to “Appreciate your mother everyday”

  1. lavz17 says :

    very nice, my favorite, your mom is a lucky women

  2. mariampera says :

    Love this. ❤ for the mamas out there!

  3. Nancy says :

    I hope your siblings READ this blog!

  4. realtalkrealdebate says :

    Reblogged this on Real Talk and commented:

    For my praise of the week I wanted to reblog this post I wrote last month. Thanks Mom for a great Thanksgiving! 🙂 If you haven’t read this yet, I hope you enjoy reading the post.

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Don’t forget to tell your dad you love him « Real Talk - December 7, 2012
  2. Do Parents have Favorites? « Real Talk - February 12, 2013

Leave a Reply

