Ode to My Country

20121106-225347.jpg

Barack Obama has just been reelected as the president of the United States of America. Let that sink in.

Today I cast my ballot for a biracial man, and the most empowering part of it was that it didn’t even phase me. I am proud of his leadership and his willingness to hear from all sides. While I am elated that the president will get four more years to see his policies through, I am cautiously optimistic about what the next term will look like.

Here’s to hoping that everyone can put party aside and unite under our flag, our love of country. The responsibility of lawmakers is to come to consensus on behalf of the electorate.

However, while I look forward to four successful years–hopefully with more compromise–I am also hoping that the president and other lawmakers take this election on as a mandate against fringe groups. While I like Obama’s willingness to reach across the aisle, this is the country’s plea for leadership and change. We don’t want anymore bickering or crazy talk; it’s not about any of them, it’s about us, and who we are and who we can be. I believe we can be better as a country because I believe in our people. I don’t think we need to result to hate speech or demonization to disagree.

Regardless of your poltical leanings, I hope that everyone works hard to make sure the country succeeds. Whatever beliefs we have that might differ, I am just so proud that people are interested in this election, and they show it by voting.

As Senator Obama said back in 2004:

I stand here today, grateful for the diversity of my heritage, aware that my parents’ dreams live on in my two precious daughters. I stand here knowing that my story is part of the larger American story, that I owe a debt to all of those who came before me, and that, in no other country on earth, is my story even possible.

We owe it to the people who came before us to exercise our right to vote (especially if it’s the only exercise we get all year). We are obligated to those who come after us to leave them the tools necessary to create an even more perfect union.

Today, we are all American. I hope our discourse starts to reflect our values: E plurbis unum.

20121106-225339.jpg

Tags: , , ,

About Mariam Pera

Writer. Editor. Political news junkie. Chicago sports fanatic. Pop culture enthusiast. Victim of fangirl tendencies.

One response to “Ode to My Country”

  1. Kamil Zawadzki says :

    Reblogged this on Outspoken and commented:
    What else can I add?

Leave a Reply

