Romney thinks “gifts” won Obama the election

RomneyAh, the 47% remark comes back once again to bite Romney, even after losing to Obama. Here is my open letter to ol’ Mittens.

Dear Mittens,

On a call with your campaign donors, you alleged that President Obama was re-elected because of “gifts” (read ‘charity’) he had given to target groups: blacks, Hispanics, low-income earners, young people, and women. The gifts in question include:

  • Free health care “in perpetuity,” which Romney said was highly motivational to black and Hispanic voters as well as for voters making $25,000 to $35,000 a year.
  • Obama’s promise to offer what Romney called “amnesty” to the children of illegal immigrants.
  • The administration’s plan for partial forgiveness of college loan interest and allowing young people to remain on their parents’ health insurance plans.
  • Free contraception coverage for women under the president’s health care plan.

“I’m very sorry that we didn’t win,” you told donors. “I know that you expected to win. We expected to win. We were disappointed; we hadn’t anticipated it.”

Here are three points of frustration I wish to express about this.

First, that you are simply being a sore loser. That means you didn’t believe the guff you yourself were spewing about bringing the country together or trying to move us all forward. I thought that no one booing at Obama’s name when you conceded was a sign that there may be hope of working together. But no, it was just more evidence that they were never that thrilled with you as their nominee–they see you for what everyone else sees you to be; rich, white, privileged,  and more than a little out of touch. The difference is that they actually hate you less than they hate Obama (reasons for which I won’t bother to speculate).

The fact that you lost, Mitt, has *nothing* to do with your own actions, positions, or comments that alienate most of America–right? In case you’re wondering, the targeted groups that received such generous gifts from the president represent most of America. Way to not see any fault in your own actions, to cast blame on others, and to not even own up to your mistakes. You would’ve been the  model of good leadership, clearly. For an example of how to be a classy loser, see John McCain’s 2008 concession speech (“Today, I was a candidate for the highest office in the country I love so much. And tonight, I remain her servant.” I get teary-eyed just reading this). While you’re reading about McCain, Mittens, I suggest reading more about the long-time Senator’s lifetime of public service and learn how special it is to represent fellow citizens in our government. Maybe you’ll take the hint and GET A JOB or do something that proves you care about other people! If you don’t, then sit down and shut up.

Second, that you had no intention of working for the entire country. For you to come out and suggest that helping these groups is a gift shows this to be the case. You can’t help the whole country if you don’t help these groups, who–again–represent most of the population now. All you were interested in, Mitt, was that you and those like you are able to keep getting richer. You can’t lead a country if you think half the people are charity cases who are taking advantage of the government. I pay taxes to have government services, and I like that children all over this country can have an education, and that the elderly can get care when their working years are behind them; I like taking care of my fellow American–what’s your problem with it, Mitt?

After your concession speech, my mom asked me what you’d be doing from now on. I said, “Probably go back to being a millionaire and not doing anything to help anyone else.” I would really love for you to prove me wrong, but I have an inkling you won’t bother–why would you care about my opinion? I’m only a first-generation American, making under $30,000 a year, taxed at a higher rate than you, 24-year-old woman who pays for her insurance and her contraception (at least until next year) that is helping her avoid cancer.

Third, that you and all the people like you are pissed off that you no longer hold the key to the Oval Office and to the direction of this country. After all, who would think that blacks, Hispanics, low-income earners, young people, and women would be players in presidential elections? I’m happy to represent 3/5 of these categories, and to tell talking-heads like you–someone who got rich by sending jobs overseas and who has spent the last decade doing nothing for the American people but campaigning to be relevant–that we will not be silenced no matter how ridiculous your banter gets. Good luck trying to ‘take your country back.’ History is against you, Mittens.

Sincerely,

Mariam Pera

Proud to be an American.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About Mariam Pera

Writer. Editor. Political news junkie. Chicago sports fanatic. Pop culture enthusiast. Victim of fangirl tendencies.

25 responses to “Romney thinks “gifts” won Obama the election”

  1. Nick Pap (@NickPap4) says :

    The article forgets to mention how many “dead” people voted for Obama

    • mariampera says :

      Um… how many dead people voted for Obama?

      Also, you’re missing the point of this post. This isn’t about who won or lost the election, it has to do with the fact that Mitt Romney thinks most Americans are a charity case.

    • realtalkrealdebate says :

      I guess 60 million “dead” people voted for President Obama. Guess I missed the night of the undead. I would attempt to dispute your claim but after viewing you profile picture I can clearly see that there is no point to debate someone so racist. Will not matter what I tell you. Hope you get the help you so obviously need.

      • Nick Pap (@NickPap4) says :

        I make $978 a week. How many lazy niggers can I support with my taxes?

      • realtalkrealdebate says :

        The only lazy person is you. You cower behind social media with your racial undertones; ignorant to your delusions. I would say you are a poor excuse for a Greek, but you are simply a poor excuse for an American. So much so that you really didn’t even deserve a response to your hate.

  2. mariampera says :

    Also, what is dead as opposed to “dead?”

  3. mike jones says :

    mitt romney may be rich, but he represents the class of people that made america great. it wasn’t the people like you making less than 30k a year that built this country with your continued investments in it.

    plus if you’re so upset that romney won why don’t you go the fuck back to wherever you came from and leave america to the people that have been here for more than a couple of years (“I’m only a first-generation American”

    • mariampera says :

      Thank you for showing how different people can be in political discourse. Unlike my friend and fellow blogger who is a Republican, you seem to lack the recognition that this is a nation of immigrants. And for your information, being a first-generation American means I was born here, so I don’t know where you want me to go back.

      And the point of this blog wasn’t that I was upset Romney won, because he didn’t. And if he had won, I’d be wishing him well and hoping he could bring the country together so we could all succeed. But it’s clear that isn’t what many people of his party’s base want. You don’t want everyone to succeed. My 30k a year might not be making much of a difference now, but I can guarantee your hatred and bigotry aren’t going to make anything about this country better. All your attitude does is perpetuate negative stereotypes about Americans and who we are. I’m proud to be an American. So while we’re throwing stones, why not ask yourself what you’ve done to make your country any better.

    • realtalkrealdebate says :

      If you truly believe that rich people are what make this country great then you are sadly misguided. You have no semblance of American history. America is great because of its diversity. Blue collar workers are the ones who made/make this country. Remember there are more not-rich than rich.

      BTW Romney did not win. Might be news to you. I voted for Romney. Obama won. I’m over it. Only thing you can do is support the president now. I dont care whom you voted for, Barack Obama is your president. Respect him. The GOP will never win another national election if it continues to believe that it can continue to pander to one group of voters.

      As for telling my blog partner to go back (not sure where since she was born here) I implore you to read my blog

  4. Kamil Zawadzki says :

    Agree wholeheartedly with this blog entry…

    As far as the comments these obviously bigoted trolls have left… I just don’t know whether I should laugh or cry at the level of stupidity and ridiculousness.

    By the way, I got naturalized as an American citizen this year. Contrary to your apparent belief, that does not make me a second-class citizen, and does not actually make me any less American than you – only difference is I don’t get to run for president.

    And no, I will NOT ‘go the fuck back’ to where I came from just to comfort your ignorance and anger.

    • Justin Hermouth says :

      Oh shut the fuck up you dump fucking polack

      • mariampera says :

        First of all, if you’re going to be a bigot, at least be creative. You cower behind a computer, holding on to your ignorance and hatred because it brings you comfort. After all, people hate that of which they are afraid. And the fact that I wasn’t posting anything about race specifically goes to show there is no argument you have to debunk my points. And that pisses you off. When people have nothing original or intelligent to say, they revert to name calling. I hope it makes you feel like a “big man” when you check your email to see how many people you pissed off today. I have to admit that posting anything that gets racists in a tizzy makes me feel pretty confident I said something right. If you really had any courage or conviction, you’d look your self in the mirror and accept what a sorry excuse for a human you are. There is only one race: human. You don’t like it, move to Mars.

    • John says :

      “We must not let our rulers load us with perpetual debt. We must make our selection between economy and liberty or profusion and servitude. If we run into such debts as that we must be taxed in our meat in our drink, in our necessities and comforts, in our labors and in our amusements, for our callings and our creeds…our people.. must come to labor sixteen hours in the twenty-four, give earnings of fifteen of these to the government for their debts and daily expenses; and the sixteenth being insufficient to afford us bread, we must live.. We have not time to think, no means of calling the mis-managers to account, but be glad to obtain subsistence by hiring ourselves to rivet their chains on the necks of our fellow suffers. Our landholders, too…retaining indeed the title and stewardship of estates called theirs, but held really in trust for the treasury, must…be contented with penury, obscurity and exile.. private fortunes are destroyed by public as well as by private extravagance.

      This is the tendency of all human governments. A departure from principle becomes a precedent for a second; that second for a third; and so on, till the bulk of society is reduced to mere automatons of misery, to have no sensibilities left but for sinning and suffering… And the fore horse of this frightful team is public debt. Taxation follows that, and in its train wretchedness and oppression.” Thomas Jefferson

  5. JF Owen says :

    Nick Pap and, to a slightly lesser extent, Mike Jones represent the worst of what folks who comment on the internet have to offer. When they resort to personal attacks or dive right into them from the start, the validity and the effectiveness of anything they have to say is lost. In the comments that they left here, that’s a moot point because the comments had no value.

    When Mr. Jones credits Mitt Romney and other wealthy people with being the reason that our country is great, he ignores the reality that the capital the industrial giants of our past invested would have been lost without the hard work and efforts of the people actually doing the job. He also ignores the fact that, when venture capitalists invest, they seldom use their own money; they borrow it. They borrow it from banks who, when the trail is finally followed to the end, borrow it from the savings that people like you and I have put into our retirement funds, education funds for our children and the smaller passbook type accounts that even the people at lower income levels often have. America is great because of what all of her people have contributed over the years. Not simply because someone with money tried to make more.

    I cringe when I read comments like I’ve seen in this post. I cringe partly because they are symptomatic of the polarized chasm that is splitting our nation but also because they are so prolific in our internet centered world. Ignorance breeds ignorance and we seem to be racing to a level playing field where everyone is equally stupid.

    I’m old enough that I won’t have to worry about where society goes when that happens, but I fear for my children and grandchildren. I can only hope that, through the efforts of people like the two hosts of this blog, society retains a hold on the notion that honest debate and discussion is the only true path to making a valued decision or solving a problem.

    JF Owen

  6. Mike Jones says :

    keep telling yourself that jp owen… and all the bunch of you fucks who think this is a hit and run… oh please, maybe i just gave up reading your shit for a while, but that makes ME the ‘poor excuse for a human’ .

  7. John says :

    Mariam. I am proud of you and your spirit. I also hope that you will consider the fact that our “war” is not on the rich. It’s possible you will on day be one…. The war is on the lies of big government to steal our freedom under the guise of protecting us from something or someone. Thomas Jefferson was such an eloquent speaker and his word live on today insofar as his disdain for big government. Consider just one of his famous quotes..and what it truly means. ” I predict future happiness for Americans if they can prevent the government from wasting the labors of the people under the pretense of taking care of them.”

    • mariampera says :

      Thanks for that insightful comment, John. I have never wanted a war with the rich–people work hard to become successful and wealthy, God bless them and their work ethic. And believe me, I have very big issues with what the Democratic party would have us all believe government is “doing” for us as if it’s a favor. We pay taxes for services–schools, roads, etc. The little stuff that isn’t really that political (who doesn’t like schools and roads?).

      I firmly believe the government DOES NOT know what’s best for us. There are public hospitals and facilities I would never use because I find the quality of care they provide so reprehensible. I don’t think government has all the answers to our problems; not by any stretch of the imagination. My biggest problem is that the people who are DEPENDENT on the government (whether you think they are freeloading or not) really don’t have other options. So if someone would start coming up with practical, logical, real solutions for these people and for the middle class, I’d be all about it. To me, things mean more when they come from individual people or businesses, because they’re doing it because it’s right, and it’s how they make money. A business owner ensures quality of product to keep customers. However, I do think it’s the role of government to protect our rights and freedoms when they are threatened by private groups like businesses, employers, religious groups, etc.

      I don’t think the government should run my health care, but I like the government telling my employer they can’t have a hand in it either. Does that make any sense or am I just rambling? I haven’t had coffee yet.

  8. John says :

    “You cannot help the poor by destroying the rich.
    You cannot strengthen the weak by weakening the strong.
    You cannot bring about prosperity by discouraging thrift.
    You cannot lift the wage earner up by pulling the wage payer down.
    You cannot further the brotherhood of man by inciting class hatred.”
    William J. H. Boetcker

    “We need to spread the wealth around.”
    Presidential Candidate Barack Obama

    • mariampera says :

      Exactly! We are in this together. I want the pandering and extremism to stop. Nobody would’ve wanted Mitt Romney to fail as president had he been elected–why do people want Obama to fail?

Leave a Reply

