Lady Gaga wears gun bra during Vancouver Concert

Lady Gaga wearing a gun braLady Gaga was spotted wearing a bra with a plastic assault rifle on each cup.  There is no word from her publicist as to why she wore the bra.  Many people are outraged that she showed a lack of sensitivity to the issue of assault rifles near the one month anniversary of Sandy Hook.

Many people have said she was probably trying to make a point and that we should wait until we hear the reasoning before we “bash her.”

Personally, I don’t think it matters why she did it.  She did.  It was completely insensitive.  Yes, she’s an artist.  She can say and do what she wants.  What people forget is that there is a thing called respect.  Your 1st Amendment rights shouldn’t supersede common decency.

If she really was trying to gather support against assault weapons she could easily have told her millions of Twitter followers to pressure their politicians to act on the issue.  I’m kind of surprised she would do this.  She’s always been the person to empower those “oppressed” and those who feel “ostracized.”  I just think she could have shown some respect.  That’s all.

Her antics are a bit reminiscent of Madonna who caused controversy last fall when she performed at a Denver concert in which she used prop guns during the show.  Here’s a link to the article.  The concert was only a few months after the Aurora, Colorado theater shooting.

What do you think?  Is her outfit offensive?

Did she go too far?  Should we wait for her explanation?

Email: realtalkdebate2012@gmail.com

Twitter: @adrakontaidis & @talkrealdebate

Tags: , , , , , , ,

About adrakontaidis

A conservative who doesn't pander to the GOP.

8 responses to “Lady Gaga wears gun bra during Vancouver Concert”

  1. gardenaki says :

    I think she went too far and it was insensitive of her to wear that bra. Also disrespectful to citizens when we recently had a major school shooting.

  2. reasoningpolitics says :

    I don’t think its a big deal. She’s a bizarre performance artist at heart. Everything she does is weird.

    • realtalkrealdebate says :

      I understand she’s a bit awkward to say the least, but you don’t think it’s at all insensitive?

    • reasoningpolitics says :

      I think we might have hit upon something important here. Now correct me if I’m wrong, but Gaga didn’t depict any acts of violence or advocate violence, right? That would have been insensitive, particularly if children were involved. The mere presence of guns in my opinion doesn’t strike me as insensitive. Gaga could have, in her totally weird way, might be advocating against violence.

      I think this is a key point that gun owners feel: they do not want to be demonized for just having guns. Its the violence that should be demonized. I support gun control because easy access to guns makes violence easier, not because the guns are somehow evil objects.

      I hope that makes sense.

      • realtalkrealdebate says :

        I don’t know why she donned the bra during the show. She nor her reps had explained her reasoning. My point was that I don’t think it matters what her reason is. If she wanted to do something pro gun control she could have tweeted her millions of Twitter followers (“monsters”) and told them to urge their Congressmen and women to do something about it.

        I understand what you are saying. I just think it was in poor taste.

  3. Kamil Zawadzki says :

    I’ll admit, if it were anyone else, I’d be shocked. But given that it’s Gaga, I have almost no reaction. Even her “shock value” shtick elicits no actual interest from me. Kinda sad but yeah she’s overdone things so much I’m pretty much de-sensitized to anything she does anymore.

Leave a Reply

