Congressman Joe Salazar thinks women afraid of being raped shouldn’t carry guns

Congressman Joe SalazarDuring a gun control debate on Friday, Congressman Joe Salazar (D-CO) said that he didn’t think women should carry guns because they might accidentally shoot an innocent person.

It’s why we have call boxes. It’s why we have safe zones. That’s why we have the whistles, because you just don’t know who you’re going to be shooting at. And you don’t know if you feel like you’re going to be raped, or if you feel like someone’s been following you around or if you feel like you’re in trouble when you may actually not be, that you pop out that gun and you pop… pop a round at somebody.

The Congressman was in a favor of House Bill 1226, which bans concealed-carry firearms inside of all college campus buildings in the state.

I think the fact he singled out women is pretty ridiculous. 

Remembering what happened to Todd Akin and Richard Mourdock the congressman was quick with an apology. 

We were having a public policy debate on whether or not guns makes people safer on campus. I don’t believe they do. That was the point I was trying to make. If anyone thinks I’m not sensitive to the dangers women face, they’re wrong. I am a husband and father of two beautiful girls, and I’ve spent the last decade defending women’s rights as a civil rights attorney.

I don’t know if I buy his apology.

Do you?

Email: realtalkdebate2012@gmail.com

Twitter: @adrakontaidis & @talkrealdebate

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

About adrakontaidis

A conservative who doesn't pander to the GOP.

19 responses to “Congressman Joe Salazar thinks women afraid of being raped shouldn’t carry guns”

  1. Nancy says :

    All these politicans have hoof n mouth disease! They should think before putting mouth in gear!

  2. reasoningpolitics says :

    I don’t understand why he singled out women, and I certainly don’t know what rape has to do with this. That part of his comment is just dumb.

    I will say that I share his concerns about concealed weapons. Most states require little to no training to carry a concealed weapon. People vastly overestimate their ability to make life or death decisions in an extremely stressful situation. Combine those two and you have the recipe for horrible mistakes. Someone can go from “good guy with a gun” to “bad guy with a gun” in an instant with one stray round.

    Concealed carry holders should have to pass the same tests as police, and should have to requalify just as often, all on their own dime. I don’t want to subsidize their training.

  3. hangoutdoctrinereview.wordpress.com says :

    Greetings from California! I’m bored to death at
    work so I decided to check out your website on my iphone
    during lunch break. I love the info you provide here and can’t wait
    to take a look when I get home. I’m amazed at how fast your blog
    loaded on my cell phone .. I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G ..
    Anyhow, wonderful site!

Leave a Reply

