Why all the Fuss over the Royal Baby?

The British royal family on Buckingham Palace ...

Prince William and Kate Middleton (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

The other day I decided to watch one of the many morning news programs.  Much to my surprise was I to see that the leading story for that day was speculation that Duchess Kate Middleton had inadvertently revealed the gender of her baby.  Somehow this speculative story was the most important “news” story for this program.  Apparently the Duchess may have begun to say the word “daughter” but stopped herself when she realized she was revealing the gender.

Let’s be clear.  I wish Duchess Middleton and Prince William nothing but the best for their child.  I hope she has a safe pregnancy and delivery.  I hope the baby is healthy.  Other than that I really don’t understand why anyone in America would care about events of their lives.  I remember months ago when it was announced that Middleton was pregnant.  Another news program sent one of their morning anchors to England.  To do what you may ask?  Well to tell us that she is pregnant.  Yes, they sent someone to England just to tell us that Kate is pregnant.

I don’t understand why the royal events garner so much coverage in this country.  I thought we won that war a long time ago.  Maybe you could include a small mention of it later in the broadcast, but to be the leading story is utterly ridiculous.  Is this news program really trying to tell me there isn’t anything more important going on in this country at the moment?  Apparently they’ve never heard of the word sequester.

The woman is pregnant.  Great for her and her family.  But c’mon.  Millions of women get pregnant all the time.  She’s not royal in this country.  So stop acting like she is.  Maybe you could actually cover news that affects this country.  Including global news in our broadcasts is a good idea.  But this really isn’t the substantive news that you should be focusing on in your broadcasts.  Don’t tell me there aren’t injustices in the world that need to be covered.

Does the royal coverage in America bother you?

Email: realtalkdebate2012@gmail.com

Twitter: @adrakontaidis & @talkrealdebate

Tags: , , , , , , ,

About adrakontaidis

A conservative who doesn't pander to the GOP.

10 responses to “Why all the Fuss over the Royal Baby?”

  1. mariampera says :

    Angelo, it’s not like anything *really* important is happening in the U.S. We just like Kate better than Kim Kardashian. Clearly, this is an improvement.

    • realtalkrealdebate says :

      Lol you know I like the Kardashians.. 🙂

      • mariampera says :

        lol I know… so does my mom and I inadvertently end up watching them a lot. But let’s be honest… if you’re going to question people’s interest in either the royal family or the Kardashians, at least the royal family *is* royalty. I mean, I like that we rid ourselves of the monarchy and all that, too, but at least that’s a reason to be “famous.” Although, all Kate did was marry someone famous, but that’s besides the point. Also, I think people’s fascination with Princess Diana and her death, and the general distaste that left for the royal family, means it was time to turn the tide on how the public (particularly in Britain) viewed HRHs.

      • realtalkrealdebate says :

        Yes, but it doesn’t explain why this would be the leading story for any news program. There are so many actual news to discuss.

      • mariampera says :

        I’m telling you, clearly there’s nothing else of importance in America. When congress does nothin all day, nothing but the royals on the news.

      • realtalkrealdebate says :

        Yes, but the economy isn’t the only thing happening. There are so many stories of more importance to report about.

  2. JF Owen says :

    You right, of course, there are tons of stories that are more important and the news is full of them. But sometimes it’s nice to read a story that doesn’t arch my back, raise my blood pressure or tempt me to crawl into the basement and lock the door.

    You’re also right that she’s not royal in this country; no sovereign has been since we gained our independence. But it’s also true that as a nation we probably have closer ties to the United Kingdom than any other nation. That’s especially true if you expand the ties to Canada, Australia,Ireland and the other 51 Commonwealth countries who consider the Queen the symbolic leader of their association. While we’re not a member of the Commonwealth, as a former colony, we are, for lack of a better analogy, a distant cousin.

    I don’t mind reading about the royal baby for the same reason I don’t mind reading about a Koala bear that did something cute in Australia or a story about the history of making chocolate in Switzerland. They make me smile a little instead of frown. Not much of that going around these days. Besides, what’s the option–reading about how much weight Snooki lost last year? Kate looks way better than Snooki. 🙂

    • realtalkrealdebate says :

      Haha true. My only problem is that the rumor of the gender was somehow the most important news story of the day. I would so much rather watch a segment about Kate than Snooki. I guess I should be happy I got to see Kate and not Jersey Shore. Lol or worse Honey Boo Boo Child :),

      • gardenaki says :

        Haha I don’t know the big deal about honey boo boo. I like the royal baby story though 🙂

Leave a Reply

