George Zimmerman found NOT GUILTY in Trayvon Martin death

Trayvon MartinHours ago, a Florida jury of 6 females found George Zimmerman NOT GUILTY of 2nd degree murder in the death of Trayvon Martin. Since the teenager’s tragic death, the public outcry for “justice” has grown more fervent with each pressing day. The public perception is that Zimmerman murdered this young boy and should be punished for his crime.

Large groups across the country have amassed to protest the verdict. I’ve read reports of added police officers needed because of growing violence amongst some participants of the protest. No matter your opinion of the case, violence is never the solution.

Most experts believed Zimmerman would be found not guilty. In a criminal case, the prosecution has the “burden of proof to prove without a reasonable doubt” that the defendant committed the crime in question. Many believed there wasn’t enough evidence to prove this burden. After all legal cases should be judged on legal merit and not on public opinion.

Many are outraged at the verdict. They decry that Martin has now been deprived of “justice.” They think Zimmerman has essentially gotten away with murder.

Personally, I don’t know what exactly happened. In reality most people don’t. The only two people who definitively know what happened were Zimmerman and Martin. Zimmerman should have heeded the police and stayed in his car. Everyone agrees with that. However, that does not equate to guilt. Zimmerman could very well have confronted Martin. Again that still does not equate guilty to manslaughter.

Zimmerman states that Martin began the fight and that Trayvon was profusely punching and hitting his head against the pavement. It is possible that Zimmerman feared his life in danger and therefore shot Trayvon. This is a plausible story. Of course that could not have been the case.

We just don’t know. Trayvon’s girlfriend’s testimony was ultimately tarnished by her lies. Because she lied on at least one occasion she discredited her entire testimony. There wasn’t any concrete evidence that Zimmerman was guilty of the charge.

Therefore, I am not really sure why there is such conviction in the tweets I have been reading. How do these people know for sure what happened that night? Were they even there? I think it would have been different if there was video-graphic evidence that Zimmerman was the aggressor. But there isn’t. We may never know what really happened.

In this case, the jury correctly reached the verdict. Juries are supposed to reach a decision based on the facts presented during the trial. They are supposed to remain objective in reaching a verdict. I know my opinion isn’t amongst the majority. It wasn’t last year during the Casey Anthony trial when again I think the jury correctly reached a verdict.

There could however be enough evidence to potentially find Zimmerman guilty in a civil case though. I think a civil case is probable.

Again I don’t know if Zimmerman is guilty of murder. And probably nor do you. Based on the evidence the verdict was correct.

There is one more thing I wonder though. And I mean this in no disrespect to Trayvon Martin or to his grieving family. Where is this outrage when people are killed each day on the streets of our neighborhoods?

Last weekend in Chicago, 74 people were shot and 14 people died. Where were the protests at the Daley Center that weekend?

Did the jury get it right?

Email: realtalkdebate2012@gmail.com

Twitter: @adrakontaidis & @talkrealdebate

Tags: , , , , , , ,

About adrakontaidis

A conservative who doesn't pander to the GOP.

17 responses to “George Zimmerman found NOT GUILTY in Trayvon Martin death”

  1. mariampera says :

    I think the outcry stems from the fact that this is becoming a very familiar tale: a young man, often black, gets killed by someone profiling him. Whether or not George Zimmerman intended to kill trayvon because he was black, the point remains he did profile the kid, and he followed him–effectively beginning the interaction. And if he hasn’t had a gun, it would’ve just been a fist fight and no one would be dead right now.

    I agree that I was pretty sure he’d get acquitted based on the evidence, but I really hope this doesn’t stop us from being able to discuss profiling–racial and otherwise–as well as media coverage of big events and how they shape public expectations.

    Your point about violence in Chicago is an excellent one. One of the Zimmermans lawyers today said that if George had been black, there wouldn’t have been charges. So that’s the way the system works; if you’re a black man killed by another black man, the system doesn’t have time for you.

    It’s really a tragedy all around. I think this was a fair trial, and I hope everyone can keep it peaceful. Ultimately I think this should be a reality check, but if the death of a bunch of (white) 6-year-olds and teachers isn’t enough to make us change out mind about guns, why would the death of another black teen change anything. *end rant*

    • mariampera says :

      By that last statement I mean people are tuned out to the death of urban youth.

    • realtalkrealdebate says :

      Sadly that has become the truth 😦

      • mariampera says :

        One important thing, though. He may not be guilty, but he isn’t innocent. He admitted to shooting and killing someone who was unarmed. He felt threatened, he may have been being attacked, so he fired a gun. The problem with this kind of self defense logic is that it isn’t equally distributed. You punch me, I shoot you. That’s not fair, and that’s not innocent. And the idea that anyone can be carrying a weapon at any time just makes people more paranoid.

  2. naduni7 says :

    Please check out my blog! I had a lot to say about tonight’s verdict and I would really appreciate it if you took the time to read it. This case sets a bad precedent.

    • realtalkrealdebate says :

      I just read your post. Let me be clear from my post I’m by no means a Zimmerman supporter. I’ve tried to objectively look at this case.

      My point is that we really don’t know for certain what happened. Our impressions of what happened are based on what conflicting eye witnesses have stated. Only Zimmerman and Martin know what happened.

      Zimmerman may very well be guilty. I just don’t think they could have found him guilty with the burden of proof. He may be found guilty in a civil case. It is tragic beyond words that this young man died.

      As for the other case I had never heard of it. Another point I’ve made is where is all the protesting when there are hundreds of shootings across the country every week.

      • naduni7 says :

        I admire your objectivity, it’s a hard thing to do with hot button topics. Zimmerman’s defense played the game very well, I’ll grant them that. In all of the hoopla, the greater points of this case were lost and that is a damn shame. Media sensationalism never helps in the court of law or the court of public opinion for that matter. It’s all about who can yell the loudest and most vehemently. We as people hoot and holler about the things the mainstream media tell us to be upset about. And in so doing, we as a society will always be divided.

        I brought up Marissa Alexander specifically because she tried to use the same defense Zimmerman did and yet she was sentenced to 20 years for a victimless crime. But where is the media shitstorm about that? In all of the sensationalism of high profile cases, our society turns a blind eye to all of the other horrible things that happen everyday.

      • realtalkrealdebate says :

        That case probably didn’t get the same coverage because the media and public made it about race.

        I hope people start paying more attention to the atrocities happening everyday at home.

        Thanks for the compliment and comment! I try to remain as objective as possible. Although it is difficult.

      • realtalkrealdebate says :

        Btw thanks for mentioning the other case. I might post about it tomorrow.

      • naduni7 says :

        You’re welcome!

      • realtalkrealdebate says :

        :). Hopefully I can post about it tomorrow have to research it first after work

      • naduni7 says :

        I look forward to reading it!

  3. ronarruejo says :

    “Where is this outrage when people are killed each day on the streets of our neighborhoods? Last weekend in Chicago, 74 people were shot and 14 people died. Where were the protests at the Daley Center that weekend?”

    I agree with this statement wholeheartedly. If I had to bet whether he actually did commit murder/manslaughter, I would; however, I haven’t heard the evidence and I am glad I was not on the jury to have to decide. He very well may have been not guilty, but also not innocent. We, as a public, spend so much time on those cases highlighted in the media, but we probably don’t even know the murder rate in our own neighborhoods and what we could do. Public sentiment was very high on this case, but I’m glad we had a process that seemed to be relatively fair for all involved.

  4. Elly Drake says :

    I agree with Mariam. This whole tragedy goes back to the point I have been trying to make against gun possession. People who arm themselves with guns are more likely,in my opinion, to use them whenever they perceive a “threat” instead of retreating, or minding their own way. Further, I find the stand your ground law to be ridiculous. Technically you are not supposed to use deadly force unless you perceive an imminent deadly threat, but that is pretty subjective, isn’t it? I think the Trayvon case highlights racial profiling and the long way we still have to go as a society to confront and deal with racial prejudices that result in tragedies like this. Overall, the jury did the best they could with the law as given to them, but this case transcends Zimmerman and Trayvon. This case is about ill conceived laws based on insecurities and misunderstandings. This case is about racism. This case reminds us that we have convenient excuses for the deaths of the innocent in the streets of Chicago and for Trayvon as well. We as a society have a lot of work still ahead of us, because this case highlights many of our shortcomings.

    • realtalkrealdebate says :

      Personally I don’t think this particular case was racial. At least it can’t be proven. The FBI did an extensive investigation into whether Zimmerman was racist and they found nothing.

      As for gun laws, I don’t really support the concealed carry law. I don’t feel safe at Target with someone having a gun.

Leave a Reply

