Top 10 Hollywood Actors

This week’s entry for my “Top 10” list is of my favorite Hollywood actors.  As someone who enjoys watching movies I had many to choose from.  These ten actors (I chose actors still alive) are the best at what they do.  I’m sure you won’t agree with all my choices.  I welcome your suggestions as to whom I should have included.  Be sure to comment with your thoughts.

Leonardo Dicaprio

1.  Leonardo DiCaprio

I think DiCaprio is the most versatile actor.  I’ve never seen a movie of his where I thought he did a poor job acting the role.  From his early role in What’s Eating Gilbert Grape (1993) to more popular roles in Titanic, the Departed and Inception ; Leo has managed to immerse himself so effortlessly in each respective role that you almost forget he is acting.  That is the sign of a great actor.  His best performance is a tie between The Aviator (2004) and Revolutionary Road (2008).  If you haven’t already seen these gems I recommend you rent them.

Film Title: Little Fockers

2.  Robert DiNero

DiNero won an Academy Award for his portrayal of Jake LaMotta in Raging Bull (1980).  The film propelled him to superstardom.  DiNero is a respectful actor who plays the rough-edged and complicated actors to a tee.  Some of my favorite performances include Bronx Tale (1993) and Meet the Parents (2000).  The later showcasing his comedic chops.  My favorite performance was in last year’s critically-acclaimed movie Silver Linings Playbook.  DiNero’s performance as an OCD father and Philadelphia Eagles fanatic rightfully earned him an Oscar nomination.  In my opinion his performance was better than Christoph Waltz in Django Unchained (2012).

Ryan Gosling

3.  Ryan Gosling

Gosling is one of Hollywood’s young stars.  While the frenzy over Gosling for some surrounds his looks, I focus on the fact that he is a good actor.  I remember watching him as a child in the television series Young Hercules.  Gosling gained fame for his role in The Notebook (2004).  This year’s The Place Beyond the Pine garnered the actor Oscar-buzz.  My favorite performance of his was in Blue Valentine (2010).

51088860MM017_manchurian

4.  Denzel Washington

The two-time Oscar winner is most well-known for his role in Training Day (2001).  Washington is one of Hollywood’s most suave actors.  His best work is in dramatic roles.  My favorite performance of his was in Man on Fire (2004).  Although he hasn’t had great performances since that role, he nonetheless is a great actor.

Joseph Gordon-Levitt

5.  Joseph Gordon-Levitt

Gordon-Levitt is a young actor who I think will be around for a very long time.  He is my favorite actor of his generation.  From portraying the geeky Tommy Solomon on 3rd Rock from the Son to directing the upcoming Don Jon later this year, Gordon-Levitt has efficiently managed his career.  While he is probably most well-known for his role in Inception (2010), my favorite performance was in 50/50 (2011).  I think it was a travesty he wasn’t nominated for an Oscar.

Actor Tom Hanks

6.  Tom Hanks

Hanks seemingly is one of the nicest actors in the business.  Hanks is famous for roles in Big, Sleepless in Seattle, Saving Private Ryan, Road to Perdition and The Da Vinci Code.  His best performance was in Forrest Gump (1994) in which he won an Oscar for Best Actor.  Being married to Greek actress Rita Wilson doesn’t hurt as well.  🙂

Christian Bale

7.  Christian Bale

Bale is an accomplished actor of many years.  His fame skyrocketed for his role of Batman in Christopher Nolan’s Batman trilogy.  My favorite performance however is in American Psycho (2000).  Although he was great in the Batman movies I feel he was superb in American Psycho.   You really did think he was psychotic.

Dustin Hoffman

8.  Dustin Hoffman

Hoffman is best known for roles in Kramer vs. Kramer (1979), Tootsie (1982) and All the President’s Men (1976).  My favorite performance was in Rain Man (1988).  Although the performance was many years ago it remains his best and one of the best of all-time.

Bradley Cooper

9.  Bradley Cooper

Bradley Cooper is another one of those young actors who in the last couple of years has gained fame in recent popular movies.  Cooper is famous for The Hangover (2009).  One of my favorite performances is in Limitless (2011).  If you haven’t seen it I recommend you rent it.  My favorite performance of his is in Silver Linings Playbook (2012).  His portrayal of a bi-polar man obsessed with reuniting with his ex-wife should have won him the Oscar for Best Actor (sorry Daniel Day Lewis).

Sir Anthony Hopkins

10.      Sir Anthony Hopkins

My favorite actor is Sir Anthony Hopkins.  While he doesn’t act as often as he once did or as much as I’d like, when he does you know he will deliver a great performance.  Some of my favorite films of his are Bram Stoker’s Dracula (1992) and Meet Joe Black (1998).  Hopkins best performance is of Dr. Hannibal Lecter in Silence of the Lambs (1991-also one of my all-time favorite movies).  His riveting and terrifying performance in the wonderful film is proof of his brilliance.  No one will ever be able to portray Dr. Lecter with the same sublime presence.

Who should have made my list?

Email: realtalkdebate2012@gmail.com

Twitter: @adrakontaidis & @talkrealdebate

Tags: , , , , , , ,

About adrakontaidis

A conservative who doesn't pander to the GOP.

18 responses to “Top 10 Hollywood Actors”

  1. JF Owen says :

    I’ll give you a “bye” on this one since you said it was your list of ten “favorite” actors. That gives you a lot of latitude. All of these are good actors and all are entertaining. But I think that some of the younger ones are too young to qualify as “Best”. They just don’t have the experience to get that nod.

    Over the years, I’ve seen a number of actors, male and female, who have had good performances that catapulted them into the limelight. But sometimes they just don’t have the staying power.

    On my list, I might have replaced a few of your younger favorites with:

    Harrison Ford, who does action, comedy and drama with equal ease;
    Brad Pitt, who has the same range as Ford;
    Clint Eastwood, who is iconic;
    Morgan Freeman, who has the ability to make virtually any character believable;

    I also like Russel Crowe, Mel Gibson and Tom Cruise, but all of them have unfortunately let their personal lives impact their professional reputations.

    On your list, I like Denzel Washington. Tom Hanks, Christian Bale (although I think he’s one of the ones who needs seasoning) and Dustin Hoffman.

    Nice Post! Can’t wait to see your favorite female actors. 🙂 That’ll show the generation gap between us for sure.

    • realtalkrealdebate says :

      I like all those you mentioned. As you says these are my favorite actors. Everyone on my list is great. They might not all have a lasting career (in terms of the younger ones) but these are who I think are the best right now. There were many actors to choose from so many of whom you suggested are favorites as well. Somewhere between 11-20. As for my favorite female actresses, I may surprise you with my choices. 🙂

      As of now in thinking favorite directors for next week.

  2. naduni7 says :

    I actually quite agree with the majority of your favorites. At least 7 of them would be on my own “favorites” list. Rain Man is my favorite Hoffman picture. I adored Cooper in Limitless, definitely an underrated film. Ahhh, DiCaprio, my first favorite, what a great range he has. Aside from Titanic, my favorites of his would be Catch Me If You Can (with the wonderful Tom Hanks!), The Departed, Shutter Island, and Inception. He certainly picks his scripts well. Have you seen Bale in The Machinist? I’ve heard such good things about it.

  3. gardenaki says :

    I love how several of your choices are my Hollywood crushes! 🙂 I love Christian Bale, Joseph Gordon Levitt, Leo DiCaprio, Ryan Gosling and Bradley Cooper. Robert Deniro is an awesome actor! I met him in Vegas last fall while he was filming an upcoming movie of his there. That was a great moment in my life to be so close to a famous star. I think his movie is supposed to come out this fall some time although I havent seen any ads for it yet.

  4. gardenaki says :

    And yes I totally agree with your comment on Bales performance in American Psycho. He was excellent! I have seen that movie several times.

  5. Sajjad RedDevil Solangi says :

    no clint eastwoon No The Great Al Pacino No Jack Nicholson you must be drunk.

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Top 10 Hollywood Actresses | Real Talk - August 18, 2013
  2. My Top Ten Favourite Actors | Rafferty's Rules - August 26, 2013
  3. Don Jon (2013) | Real Talk - September 29, 2013
  4. American Hustle (2013) | Real Talk - December 27, 2013
  5. The Wolf on Wall Street (2013) | Real Talk - December 28, 2013

Leave a Reply

