Robin Thicke-Blurred Lines [Feminist Parody] “Defined Lines”

Robin Thicke picThis week’s “video of the week” is very different than past selections.  A few months ago I posted my thoughts on the “Blurred Lines” controversy.  Robin Thicke’s VMA performance with Miley Cyrus has renewed the conversation on what is appropriate and what is demeaning.

The following video is a parody of “Blurred Lines.”  It is very explicitOnly adults should watch it, if they so choose.  I contemplated if I should even post such a sexually explicit video (in terms of what they say) with profane language on this blog.  So again, the following video may be deemed as profane and explicit

What do you think?

Does this video go too far?

Email: realtalkdebate2012@gmail.com

Twitter: @adrakontaidis & @talkrealdebate

Tags: , , , , , , ,

About adrakontaidis

A conservative who doesn't pander to the GOP.

9 responses to “Robin Thicke-Blurred Lines [Feminist Parody] “Defined Lines””

  1. verbalspew says :

    I saw this video yesterday, and I felt conflicted afterward. It is in parts clever and funny, but is it necessary? I’m not sure, the jury is still out on this one for me I guess!

    • realtalkrealdebate says :

      My exact sentiment. While I thought the Blurred Lines video was at times demeaning to women I don’t necessarily think it was their intention. Can’t say the same with this video. I’m just a bit torn on this one.

      • verbalspew says :

        I don’t think it was their intention either. One thing I noticed is the ladies’ use of #not****ingplasctic. Thicke’s lyric that they’re parodying here is “You’re far from plastic”. Thick & Co. are saying they prefer a natural woman. So did the ladies misunderstand, or are they actually targeting the women in Thicke’s video and insinuating they’re all plastic? Because if they are, that’s even worse. I mightn’t agree with what the ladies in Thicke’s video appear to be doing but they’re still beautiful, and not at all plastic.

        The whole thing confuses me. Blurred Lines indeed!

      • realtalkrealdebate says :

        Great point! I was trying to figure out what that meant. Maybe they meant it as women aren’t dolls and men can’t do what they please with them. And that all women aren’t the same.

  2. maria says :

    I’m sure Robin Thicke had a good laugh with this one…haha! I think they took it a little too far. I’m sure there are many female videos/songs that exploit men to some degree as well. The song or video don’t bother me. I think if you take it literally, there would be reason to be pissed bit I don’t think that was the singer’s intention. Who knows though.

  3. JF Owen says :

    I think that I’m going to beg off on this one. For the first time I can remember, I actually find myself not fully comfortable expressing my thoughts on something in popular culture. The worst part is that I’m not exactly sure why. It’s a little sad because it might mean that I actually am getting too old.

Leave a Reply

