The Ebola Virus- should we be concerned?

For several weeks this has been the main topic of conversation in the news media as well as in the households of millions of Americans who have become skeptical that the Ebola virus is something they should be concerned about catching. The Ebola virus is not a newly discovered disease, but rather a hysteria that has infiltrated the psyche of American minds the moment a citizen contracted the disease on American soil. While I will not concede to such mass frenzies, I will admit that despite statements from the government urging me I have nothing to fear any foreign disease can cause a threat to national security, albeit a likely, remote and diminutive one in that respect.

The Huffington Post posted an article on Halloween citing the CDC’s decision to alter the language they are providing the masses on the Ebola Virus via their website. It seems like the virus could be passed through “droplets” from sneezes and coughs. And while it is “unlikely” the disease will not mutate into an airborne form, that statement does not refute the possibility. This is a bit disconcerting if you ask me. I watched the movie Contagion starring Gwyneth Paltrow. I know what can happen with infectious and contagious diseases. I sure as heck know more than NBC News chief medical editor, Dr. Nancy Snyderman, who can’t follow a simple quarantine measure that somehow doesn’t apply to her superhuman and entitled stature. I hope that soup was worth risking exposing a disease that could have lain dormant in her body.

Ultimately, I think the ongoing news cycle and regurgitation of fear-mongering does nothing but provoke panic that distracts from other more important news events. Do I fear that I will catch Ebola? No. Is it possible? Sure I guess; though I probably have a better chance to win the jackpot. I suppose there’s always a possibility. However, it is not a thought that runs rampant and prevalent in my mind.

I’m not saying Americans shouldn’t be aware of the current situation. I’m simply stating that in all likelihood the average American doesn’t have much to worry about. And if we do, then I guess it might then be a more appropriate time to panic.

What do you think?

Email: realtalkdebate2012@gmail.com

Twitter: @adrakontaidis & @talkrealdebate

Tags: , , , , , ,

About adrakontaidis

A conservative who doesn't pander to the GOP.

4 responses to “The Ebola Virus- should we be concerned?”

  1. JF Owen says :

    I’m really not afraid of contracting ebola, Despite that, I think that it’s human nature for people both to fear the unknown and expect the worse. as a result, it’s inevitable that some folks are going to spend a lot of time worrying about something that will almost certainly never happen.

    Last weekend, I had a conversation with a good friend who also happens to be my personal physician. During that conversation he used the word “wimpy” when describing ebola. I asked him what he meant by that. He went on to explain that ebola, while often deadly if contracted, was actually not especially adept at invading the human body. He said that influenza kills four to five times more people each year in the U.S. alone than the current ebola outbreak has in all of west Africa. Despite that sobering statistic, millions of people in the U.S. bypass getting a flu shot each year.

    One person has died in the United States from ebola, and he didn’t contract it here. As a result millions of people are obsessed with catching the disease. Fifty thousand people die each year from the flu but doctors and drug stores have to beg people to get vaccinated. Go figure.

    • realtalkrealdebate says :

      True. Speaking of, I need to get my flu shot. I’ve never gotten one. I’ve heard way too many people feel like it got them sick afterwards. Not sure I believe them. What have your experiences been like?

      • JF Owen says :

        I get a flu shot every year. Other than an occasional sore spot at the injection site that lasts for a day, I’ve never had a bad reaction or gotten sick from the shot. I did get a minor case of the flu on one occasion despite having the vaccination.

        The thing that many people don’t know is that each year’s flu shot is different and is formulated to protect against the two or three most likely strains of flu that particular year. If you happen to be exposed to a strain that isn’t an expected culprit, you can still get sick. But, even in those cases, the shot can provide some degree of cross protection.

        Since flu strains often share ancestry, the vaccination can give your body a jump start on building the antibodies needed to fight a less prominent strain. In the case where I did get ill, I was only sick for 2-3 days and the severity was much less than usual.

        I remember getting influenza once when I was younger and before I regularly got a shot. Despite being in my twenties and very healthy, I was down and out for ten solid, very ugly days.

        I read an article years ago which said that the CDC had estimated that more people have died from influenza through time than all other communicable diseases combined. That seemed difficult for me to believe, but then in the 1918 Spanish flu outbreak nearly 100 million souls perished. That was only one year and one strain. Maybe they’re right.

      • realtalkrealdebate says :

        I think I am going to be getting one soon. I am fighting a cold at the moment, so I will wait until that’s over with. I don’t think many young people get flu shots. But if at least shortens the length of the flu then its worth it.

Leave a Reply

