Insidious: Chapter 2 (2013)

Insidious Ch. 2 (2)The sequel to James Wan’s popular horror film Insidious (2011) picks up where the original ended.  Josh (Patrick Wilson) and Renai (Rose Byrne) Lambert continue to be haunted by malevolent spirits that stubbornly yearn for life.  The first film’s dramatic ending sets up the entire sequel.  Supernatural activity occurs fairly quickly in the presence of the distraught and exhausted Renai. 

Insidious: Chapter 2 answers many questions left from the first chapter.  There are many interwoven storylines in the sequel.  If you haven’t yet seen the first Insidious, but are interested in watching this chapter, I would strongly recommend you watch the first film.  Otherwise you will be in a state of confusion throughout the film.  The two films really work as one.

While not a fledgling director, James Wan does make some creative and visual mistakes throughout the film.  Wan directed the first Saw movie, Insidious and this summer’s hit The Conjuring.  Wan does make some nice improvements in his camera angles.  The subtle changes add to the suspense of certain scenes.

There are some spooky moments throughout the film.  If you scare easily, please for the sake of your fellow audience members, stay at home.  I say this because I watched the film yesterday in what can only be described as a mini-high school.  Unlike The Conjuring’s rated “R” status, this film is rated PG-13.  This unfortunately means the flocking of young adolescents that in my case wouldn’t stop yapping throughout the film.  In fact, the mere presence of a spirit far out into the abyss caused my fellow moviegoers to scream in ridiculous exclamation.  I don’t remember being that obnoxious in high school.

Insidious Ch.2 (1)

In my opinion, this film is an above-average entry into the horror genre.  I am by no means a horror-flick aficionado.  However, having watched my share of scary movies throughout my lifetime I think I am well-prepared in reviewing this film.  While I don’t think the movie is hackneyed in the sense I think it is fairly original, I want to point out that there were too many predictable scares.

I saw the film with some family members (No, I would not see a horror-film on Friday the 13th alone) and they liked the movie a lot more than I did.  I’ve been told that I am a discerning reviewer.  I’ve been told I am too tough of a critic.  With each review I post, I have one simple goal: To advice my reader if the movie is worth their time and/or money.

I don’t think this movie warrants your attention on opening weekend.  Again while an admirable entry to the horror-genre I think the film is rather flawed.  It’s difficult to discuss my biggest complaint without spoiling the film’s conclusion.  I think you should only watch this film in theaters if you don’t have any other movie choices you are interested in seeing this weekend.  Don’t drop your weekend plans for this film.  I would be remiss if I did not mention that Wilson’s performance in the movie was great.  The problems with the movie aren’t so much the acting.

If you didn’t like The Conjuring or Insidious then you surely won’t like this film.  The films are all bunched together (in terms of rating) in my book.  If you do decide to watch this movie, I sincerely hope you don’t get stuck watching it with pubescent teens who think it is appropriate to literally get up and gyrate during “scary scenes.”  I think my movie experience might have dampened my impression of the film.  It is difficult to be scared when you are distracted by obnoxiousness.

I don’t think this film is worth $10.75.  Watch a matinée.

MPAA rating: PG-13

Running Time: 105 minutes

My Grade: C+

Are you planning on watching this film?

Email: realtalkdebate2012@gmail.com

Twitter: @adrakontaidis & @talkrealdebate

Tags: , , , , , , ,

About adrakontaidis

A conservative who doesn't pander to the GOP.

9 responses to “Insidious: Chapter 2 (2013)”

  1. gardenaki says :

    Totally disagree with your rating. I would give this film an A-. This was probably one of the better horror films I have seen in a few years. It did start off slow in the beginning but it picked up after about 20 minutes and was suspenseful. Definitely worth watching in the theaters! I’m also not a huge horror film fan but I have to admit this one was pretty good.

  2. verbalspew says :

    I completely agree with your goal when you review a movie; you want to give your opinion as to whether or not the film is worth your readers’ hard earned cash. I totally appreciate that. And as a result now, I think I’ll wait for DVD. I have a strong inkling that I will probably agree with you.

    Also, my sympathies for the screaming and obnoxious pubescents, I’ve been there. ;D

    • realtalkrealdebate says :

      Yeah it really was one of the worst movie experiences I’ve ever had. Worst than late showing where people being their newborns to watch loud action movies. I’m curious if you will end up agreeing with my review.

      But like I said, I want to tell my reader if they should waste their money on a movie. Not every movie is worth going to the theater. Simple truth. I would definitely at least rent it. It wasn’t horrid. Who knows maybe now because I said it wasn’t exceptional you might love it because your expectations would be lowered.

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Devil’s Due (2014) | Real Talk - January 20, 2014

Leave a comment