Top 10 All-Time Movie List

Since I received such a pleasant response for my recent post “Top 10 Destinations I Most Want to Visit” I’ve decided to try out a new weekly feature on this blog.  Every week I will post a list of my Top 10 list in whichever category I choose to write about that week.  I hope you enjoy this new feature and I hope you offer me suggestions for the upcoming weeks.

This week I comprise a list of my Top 10 All-Time Movies.  These are my favorite movies.  While I have watched many films, I may have not watched your favorite.  My list is constantly in flux.  It is also not in order of favoritism.

My Top 10 List:

iconic scene from Titanic

1.  Titanic (1997)

James Cameron’s masterpiece is in my opinion one of the best movies.  The climax of the movie, which sees the sinking of the enormous ship, is truly epic.  The movie features one of my favorite actresses, Kate Winslet.  Everything about the film is superb.  Cameron created a film in which even though we knew what would happen in the end, we were still swept away by the plot and the great performances.

Brando

2.  The Godfather (1972)

Francis Ford Coppola’s film is the epitome of film-making and storyline.  Not to sound redundant, but this movie truly is a masterpiece.  There is a reason the movie consistently is ranked amongst the greatest of all-time.

Amadeus

3.  Amadeus (1984)

Amadeus is one of those movies often not highly ranked in all-time lists.  It is however one of my favorite movies.  I remember watching it in high school for my Music class.  The plot is simply riveting.  The addition of Mozart’s classics only enhances the film’s excellence.  If you haven’t seen it I highly recommend you give it a try.

Heath Ledger as The Joker

4.  The Dark Knight (2008)

Christopher Nolan’s Batman trilogy is a prime example of how a reboot should be executed.  Heath Ledger’s performance in this instant classic earned him a posthumous Academy Award.  I have never seen a more compelling villain or a more convincing portrayal of a comic-book character in my lifetime.  Ledger owned this character and his performance owned this movie.

Pixar's Toy Story

5.  Toy Story (1998)

Pixar’s first feature-length movie is still the company’s best creation.  The movie transcended current filmmaking and changed the industry to this day.  The original story is pure brilliance.  It is one of those movies I never tire watching.

The Lion King

6.  The Lion King (1994)

Simba’s journey to the rightful place as the “king” of his pride is one of the most beautiful stories ever told.  The death of Simba’s father would later greatly resonate in my life.  The group of characters created in this film is ever-lasting.  So is the addictive feel-good song “Hakuna Matata.”

The Silence of the Lambs

7.  The Silence of the Lambs (1991)

Anthony Hopkins is one of my favorite actors.  His portrayal of serial-killer, Hannibal Lecter, is flawless.  This easily is his best work of art.  Similarly to Ledger’s “Joker” performance, Hopkins brilliantly portrayed Hannibal.  After this movie I don’t think anyone can ever do justice to the portrayal of Lecter.

The Lord of the Rings

8.  The Return of the King (2003)

Peter Jackson’s epic conclusion to the Tolkien series was deserving of its Best Picture Oscar.  The cinematography alone was a master class in the art of camera work.

Remember the Titans

9.  Remember the Titans (2000)

Another movie not often mentioned amongst the best.  As one of the first movies I ever watched in the theaters, I still remember viewing this great movie.  I even remember where I sat in the theater.  The film is based on the true story of Herman Boone who tries to integrate a racially divisive football team in the early 1970’s.  This is one of Denzel Washington’s best performances.

Jurassic Park

10.      Jurassic Park (1993)

Steven Spielberg is one of the best directors in film history.  While there are several of his movies I could have included in this list, I chose the one that I most liked growing up.  Jurassic Park breathed life into Michael Crichton’s fantastic novel.   What Spielberg managed to accomplish in this film has been mirrored by many since.  The rippling water in the cup to signify the coming of the T-Rex is a genius in suspense.

As I attempted to make this list, it quickly became apparent that it is extremely difficult to mention only ten movies.  I have made several alterations from my initial list.  I’m sure you probably agree with some of my suggestions and there are probably movies you think I’m crazy for not including.  Again, these are movies I’ve seen.  For whatever reason these movies have left a lasting impression upon me.

What movies do you have to add to my list?

Please email and/or tweet me your suggestions for upcoming themes.  As always you can leave a comment on this post.  I check and respond to every comment, email and tweet.

Thanks for the support!    

Email: realtalkdebate2012@gmail.com

Twitter: @adrakontaidis & @talkrealdebate

Tags: , , , , , , ,

About adrakontaidis

A conservative who doesn't pander to the GOP.

13 responses to “Top 10 All-Time Movie List”

  1. gardenaki says :

    I have seen most of these movies and they are pretty good choices! My favorites from your list are Titanic and Dark Knight. I would add The Blind Side to your list.

  2. JF Owen says :

    All entertaining, but my list (in no particular order) would be

    Ground Hog Day
    Forest Gump
    Mr. Holland’s Opus
    Avatar
    The Patriot
    Jeremiah Johnson
    Top Gun
    The Incredibles
    The Longest Day
    Always
    Ghostbusters
    WALL-E

    Oops, that’s twelve. Sorry. 🙂

    • realtalkrealdebate says :

      I’ve seen most of those films and I do think they are good. Wall-E was really great. Forest Gump is a classic. I’m kind of bummed there hasn’t been a sequel to the Incredibles.

      I hope you like my new feature. 🙂

  3. naduni7 says :

    I’ve seen and love 8 of these. Some of these are my favorites for many of the same reasons you listed. I don’t think I could do a top ten list for all-time favorite movies. I could do the “top ten that I want to watch today” but that’s it lol.

Leave a comment