Trainwreck (2015)

Judd Apatow directs the comedy written by and loosely based off the life of Amy Schumer. The film centers on the life of a 30-something year old woman stuck in the cycle of a polygamous and self-destructive lifestyle. Amy works at a body and sex-obsessed men’s magazine. She is assigned to work on a piece highlighting the surgeon to some of the greatest athletes. Amy, who knows almost nothing about sports (her favorite team are the Orlando Blooms) reluctantly agrees to the assignment.

Aaron Conners (Bill Hader), the sports doctor, agrees to the interview. Aaron happens to be best friends with Lebron James. Lebron is a Downton Abbey fan who is pretty frugal with his finances (something tells me he wasn’t acting 🙂 ) Soon Amy and Aaron begin to date, much to the chagrin of Amy who like her father detests monogamy or commitment. The film then explores their relationship, including some clichéd themes.

Schumer fully embodies the drunken and reliably party-centric role usually played by a male character. This role reversal certainly proves refreshing in the age of an over-saturated market for comedies. She is almost like the female version of a Don Jon. Amy’s nonchalance to anything that smells long-term is parallel to the attitude shared by many millennials.

Despite the opening sequence of a young Amy being instructed in the distorted rules of love; the first part fell a bit flat. Luckily it didn’t take long until Hader and James (yes, I am going to praise him-no worries, I have my barf bag ready) entered the sequence of events. Their scenes enhanced and in some ways saved this film from being slightly above mediocre.

I’ve been a fan of Amy’s since the Charlie Sheen roast. I watch her TV show, Inside Amy Schumer. Her chemistry with Hader was believable and sweet. Hader’s scenes with the sensitive James were comical. John Cena’s scenes were cringe-worthy and humorous. (Good luck finding your Cross-Fit Queen). SNL alum Vanessa Bayer was awkwardly funny as Amy’s best friend and co-worker. Tilda Swinton was unrecognizable as the bitchy and unsympathetic boss.  Brie Larson, one of my favorite young actresses, was under-utilized.

Similar to Amy’s hit show on Comedy Central, not all the scenes were funny and some even felt too drawn out. I think in part this was due to the overall feeling that the film, at about 2 hours long, was a bit too long for a comedy. There were parts of the movie that I was laughing out loud and then there were parts that felt rushed and unnecessary.

Ultimately, this is a solid film debut for Amy Schumer. While not in the same echelon as say Bridesmaid, it holds its own and merits a trip to the theater. The acting was good but not Oscar-worthy, despite what Richard Roeper claims, and the film has its laughs. Take some friends and enjoy.

MPAA Rating: R (strong sexual content, nudity, language and some drug use)

Running Time: 124 minutes

My Grade: B

Email: realtalkdebate2012@gmail.com

Twitter: @adrakontaidis & @talkrealdebate

Tags: , , , , , , ,

About adrakontaidis

A conservative who doesn't pander to the GOP.

4 responses to “Trainwreck (2015)”

  1. Nancy says :

    I agree. Had a few smiles no laughs like all the critics had. I did not think this was a comedy more of a ‘dramady’. There were some serious dramatic parts, that made you think. ‘B’ rating is about right.

    • realtalkrealdebate says :

      I had some good laughs. It just wasn’t consistent enough for me. I think they could have edited it and changed a few scenes and it would have been better. But certainly one of the better movies this year.

  2. Mariam Pera says :

    I actually really enjoyed it, I’d give it a B+/A- for adding the drama/context/story. However, my favorite Judd Apatow movie remains “Celtic Pride.” He didn’t direct it, but he wrote it. It’s never received good reviews, and maybe it just belongs in its own time, but it’s still my favorite. If you’re a sports fan, I’d recommend it.

Leave a comment